Cool Spring Updo

Hello love! Want to rock a do so simple an infant could master it? Then let’s get started.

I have been blessed (cursed) with curly, thick, voluminous hair. Because of this, as soon as it starts to get remotely warm, I immediately tie it up in a top knot to escape dying of heat stroke. This obviously lends itself to me looking less than put together on most days, especially living in the hell hole that is the south. With this in mind, I try pretty hard to come up with something-anything– to do with my hair that looks less like I rolled out of bed 10 minutes ago and more like “wow, she’s got her crap together”.

So why not try a low, off-centered bun (really branching out there Prep)!?  Ergo we have the hair style I rocked for every high school dance ever.


IMG_4379


Because I have naturally curly hair, I have enough texture and volume to make this work without much work. If you want to, you could certainly curl your hair before but I personally think this could also be rocked with straight hair. That being said, I would highly suggest a good spritz of texturizing spray or dry shampoo to get the messy volume this look needs (or not- you do you girl).


IMG_4380


I start by parting my hair like I’m going for a half-up-half-down style. After tying up the upper portion, I place my headband of choice on top of the bottom portion but allow the top portion of hair to fall on top of the band. I take the majority of my hair into a lower bun towards one side of my head; I favor the side opposing my part.


IMG_4382


After tying this hair in a messy bun on the side, I’ll start to pull on the hair on the top of my head. Creating this volume will add to the “messy” and “care-free” aspect of this look. Finish by pulling out pieces to frame your face (you could even curl these pieces if you want).


IMG_4383


And that’s it; you’re done friend. Super easy and keeps all of that hair off your neck (or you could just cut it all off, like punk)! Hope you liked it and tell me your tips and ticks to keeping cool with your hair!

Love you bunches!- Prep

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. pehge says:

    very cute! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Prep The Punk The Posh says:

      Thanks so much!
      -Prep

      Like

  2. Your gorgeous! I love your blog! It is so interesting! Would you ind checking my blog out and giving it a follow? Thanks! EC x

    http://www.emilyclarebeauty.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Prep The Punk The Posh says:

      Thanks!!
      -Prep

      Like

Leave a Reply

