Curly Hair Care

Hey love bugs!! Prep here, and today I wanted to talk about products I use to maintain healthy, curly hair!

Keep in mind every type of “curly” hair is different. As you can see mine is much straighter at the roots and spirals out towards the ends. I’m probably no more than a 3A (depending on the day and how much I care) at my ends and maybe a 2B at my roots. Only a select few people with have this hair type, therefore only a select amount of people will find that they agree with me completely. So take everything with a grain of salt. ;)

  1. The first product I love to use is a deep conditioner. Personally I’m a big fan of leave in conditioners. I’m such a fan girl of coconut so I use any type of coconut oil (get the cheap Crisco if you want) to give my hair some much needed moisture. I’m currently using the Shea Moisture Extra Virgin Coconut Oil and the OGX Coconut Curls Curling Hair Butter. At nighttime I take a significant amount of either product, lather the last 2/3 of my hair, tie it up in a lose bun, and go to bed. It’s a lazy girls dream and my hair is significantly better when I wake up.115_1124
  2. The second product is any type of serum. I personally really enjoy It’s a 10 Miracle Leave-In Product or the Lanza’s Healing Strength Silk Serum Both of these products add instant shine while strengthening hair, eliminating frizz,  and not weighing in down with product. The Miracle Leave-In Product also acts as a great heat protectant. I put these in the very ends of my hair in the morning as a finishing step to styling my hair (jokes-we all know I rarely do that). This helps to calm the ends, and stop them from turning into unsightly frayed tentacle-like things.  115_1122
  3. The third product I use is some type of styling product. This will depend on what day of the week it is and how long its been since I’ve washed my hair. For the freshly washed hair day, I like to comb through a light amount of Tresemme’s Curl Care Flawless Curls Extra Hold Mousse through out all of the hair. This will help the curls “solidify” into actual ringlets rather than each strand trying to make it solo. For 2nd or 3rd day hair, I like to use Not Your Mother’s Beach Babe Texturizing Sea Salt SprayThis helps rejuvenate the curls that I made the previous day. I like to dampen my hair with a spray bottle of water and then apply a light coat of the sea salt spray to help them come back to life. And for those days when you really just can’t remember how long its been since soap has touched your locks, I love Batiste Dry ShampooNormally I go for the type for brown hair, but last time I picked up the tropical scent because they were out. This is great at absorbing the oils in your hair (especially at the root) and making the hair look freshly washed when we both know its been way too long. 115_1123

And that’s it. These are the product I repurchase again and again so that I can make the luscious tresses look fantastico. I hope this helps any curly girls out there (God knows we need it) and tell me below about any favorite products you have for maintaining the all-important curl.

Love ya bunches!-Prep

3 Comments Add yours

    1. The Prep The Punk The Posh says:

      Thanks so much!
      -Prep

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

