What can color do for you?

What’s up nerds, Punk here with some Work it Wednesday words of wisdom (Alliteration!), so let’s get to it.

IMG_5611One of the hardest parts about having crazy colored hair is not clashing with my outfits. Things that used to look great on me, whether it’s makeup or my wardrobe, end up looking completely ridiculous as soon as I change my hair.  With that in mind, sometimes the easiest thing to do is avoid color altogether, and while minimalist monochromatic looks are always in, where’s the fun in that?  I love color. I love seeing how I can work with hues that are often seen as difficult to pair, and how I can use color to accentuate certain things, for example, my hair, eyes, lipstick, etc. This is where color theory is incredibly helpful.  In this look today my hair, dress, and lipstick are all playing off the same three colors: light blue, hot pink, and golden yellow.  They’re all so similar that none are the focus, instead, the eye is drawn to my black necklace; a stark contrast (against my alabaster skin) from the multi-colored ensemble around it.  This is akin to having a boldly colored statement piece in a neutral outfit, but instead the neutral becomes the statement.

The dress is from Hot Topic (I know, I know, but they actually have really cute stuff. And my emo phase never truly ended.), the necklace is from Forever21, and the shoes are Lucky Brand.

Hope y’all enjoyed hangin’ out, it’s always a pleasure, and I’ll see you on Friday.

Stay weird. –Punk 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Punk Rock Anthropology says:

    Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. beyfbaby says:

    you hair looks lovely! i get a bit self conscious that if i wear red lipstick it’ll clash too much with the green in my hair. but now I just figure it looks like christmas so i’m okay with it haha

    Like

    1. The Prep The Punk The Posh says:

      I love matching complimentary colors like that, they play off each other beautifully and really pop! Any warm tones with green or blue create really cool contrast and intensity, so rock that red lipstick-Punk

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

