BH Cosmetics review

Hi there sweet pea! Today’s Try it Tuesday is going to be focused around two great and affordable BH Cosmetics palettes!Now BH Cosmetics is a brand that I hold very near and dear to my heart seeing that one of the first palettes I ever bought was the 88 Cool Matte Palette. While I’m not reviewing that palette today (because mine is so old it should probably be tossed) I am reviewing the Foil Eyes – 28 color eyeshadow palette¬†and the Carli Bybel 14 color eyeshadow & Highlighting ¬†palette.

Let’s get started with the Foil eyes palette! I’m not a big fan of colorful looks for everyday wear so I tend to buy very neutral palettes, however we’re doing the 100 days of makeup challenge on Instagram and I decided that I needed some colorful shadows to create different looks for the challenge.

I really like this palette, and here’s why…

  • It’s inexpensive, $19 originally but BH Cosmetics always has a sale going on, as I’m writing this post it’s only $12
  • They have good color payoff
  • They’re blend-able
  • It’s very versatile, if you like to experiment with your makeup you’re going to be able to find a fun color that you like

The biggest fault I can find with this palette is the packaging, the outside plastic does feel pretty cheap (then again the palette itself is inexpensive), and the pans aren’t super secure to the palette (I haven’t had one fall out on me yet though). Considering that this isn’t a palette I travel with the packaging quality doesn’t really bother me. And even though I feel like this is a given considering that th palette is called Foil Eyes, there are only satin and shimmery finishes in this palette.

I have done a “Peacock Halo Eye” look using this palette and pretty much any colored look I’ve done for the 100 days of makeup challenge I’ve used this palette.

Now I’m going to move on to the Carli Bybel palette (you can check out Carli’s YouTube channel here). I don’t watch Carli Bybel and not many of the YouTubers I watch have touched on this palette too much so I picked it up on a whim after looking up some reviews. I’m glad I did order it though because this is a beautiful neutral palette.

The Pros are very similar to the Foil eyes palette…

  • It’s inexpensive, $20 originally currently on sale for $14.50
  • Good pigmentation
  • They’re blend-able
  • Super easy to use! The shadows work with one another so well this is great if you’re like me and love neutral shadows
  • I really like the packaging, it’s sleek, lightweight, it has a mirror, it has foiled words on the front and inside that I think adds a pretty touch
  • This palette includes highlighter shades in 4 different tones for different skin tones (they’re kind of subtle though)
  • It has matte, satin, and shimmery finishes (I like them all equally)

The biggest thing I don’t like about these shadows is that they’re powdery, to combat this I tap my brush into the shadow and then tap it onto my hand or a clear space in the palette I find that if I knock the excess shadow off my brush like I normally do I loose all of the shadow I just picked up so I try to tap the shadow into the brush rather than off the brush.

This is a look I came up with to show off both the neutrality of the Carli Bybel palette with a fun pop from the Foil Eyes palette.

All in all I love BH Cosmetics as a brand and I’ll definitely continue to purchase from them (I really want to try some of their lip products next). If I had to choose a favorite from these two I would choose the Foil Eyes palette because I don’t have anything like it in my collection and the shades in the Carli Bybel palette are pretty dupe-able.

I hope you enjoyed this review! Let me know what palettes your loving right now in the comments below!

–Keep it Posh

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

