Covering Up Summer Sunburns

Hey kids, if you’re like me and burst into flames in the tiniest hint of sunlight, summertime can be very painful. And red. Today’s Makeup Monday is how I cover up my sunscreen fails.

This past weekend we spent the day on the river, and while I was militant about reapplying my SPF 50 throughout the day, my hairline and nose managed to burn pretty bad. So this morning after cleansing I turned to the best thing for any sunburn, Aloe Vera.

Slathering it on my nose and hairline, I turned to my most moisturizing primer, my Nivea Men Sensitive Post Shave Balm. It really is as good as the Youtuber’s say, y’all. Following that I jumped into the other Youtube/Instagram craze that took place earlier this year, color correcting (tutorial here).

img_0027I put the green color corrector all over the sunburns (and a few acne spots) to neutralize the redness, and then turned to my face makeup. To keep things light in the summer I’ve been sticking with CC+ creams and only applying foundation where I really need the coverage. Today I put my Urban Decay Naked Skin One and Done Hybrid Complexion Perfector, which I reviewed here, all over my face and went over my acne and sunburns with my L’Oreal Pro Matte Infallible Liquid Foundation and set it with a light dusting of my Maybelline Fit Me Powder Foundation.

You can stop here or go for a full face, the natural finish it gives looks fine either way. I opted to finish out the look with some gloss and light eye makeup to go about my day, here’s the finished result:

4b3637cf-ce0e-4095-8e78-a78c3a855dc1Thanks for hanging out, apply your sunscreen.

Stay rad.-Punk

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

