Hair Dying 101: I Dyed for You

I literally dye.

Sorry for the gratuitous dying puns, get ready for as many as I can squeeze into one post. This is a basic run down on how to bleach and dye your hair unnatural colors, as one of the trio is known to do…(It me)

What you will need:

  • Coconut Oil
  • At least 3 day hair
  • Bleach powder (I prefer Ion)
  • Developer
  • Toner (Only if you want to stay blonde or are going pastel)
  • Hair dye in a (funky) color of your choice
  • Mixing bowls (no metal, only glass or plastic)
  • Dye brushes
  • Hair foil (if doing multiple colors)
  • Lots and lots of hair clips (no metal)
  • Plastic cap (optional, but useful if you’re going to be doing things while the dye develops)

Bear in mind that you only need to use bleach if you are going to a color lighter than your natural color, if you are naturally light blond you are not only blessed, but you can just skip straight to the dye. Also, depending on the color the wash out will be different. Reds fade to pinkish orange, but generally stain your hair. Blues and greens will fade quickly, but the residual color will last until you cut it. In my experience, pink doesn’t tend to stick around for long. Pastel Colors: you must bleach to near white blond otherwise the color will not show up at all, also the upkeep is a lot of work as pastels wash out rapidly and you will need to reapply your toner frequently.

This is the basic order in which to do things provided that you are bleaching, if not skip to step 4.

  1. Acquire 3 day hair, or as dirty as you feel comfortable.
  2. Apply coconut oil to the ends to protect from bleach damage and breakage.
  3. Section off hair, smaller sections make for a more even application.
  4. Mix bleach powder with toner, following the packaging for the ratio, apply, let it develop.
  5. Wash hair using a non-color safe shampoo to ensure it gets everything out of your hair.
  6. If dyeing immediately after bleach do not condition. Conditioner can prevent the dye from soaking in evenly. This goes for all dye.
  7. Re-section hair.
  8. Mix dye and developer if needed, some brands come pre-mixed. Apply and let it develop.
  9. Wash it out with a color-safe shampoo. Condition and leave in deep conditioner to help with the dryness caused by bleach/dye.

After all that you should be set. Let me know if there’s anything you would add or that you disagree with, this is just what I personally found works for me and my hair. Thanks for hanging out.

Stay rad.-Punk

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Smear says:

    I was actually just thinking of buying that EXACT Artic Fox color! Just recently found out about them, but love that they are vegan! How do you find it?

    Like

    1. The Prep The Punk The Posh says:

      I love that they’re vegan and cruelty free, I’m in the process of slowly switching over. The color is fantastic, but I can’t speak to how it fades quite yet. If it’s anything like Manic Panic I’ve got high hopes.-Punk

      Like

      1. Smear says:

        Awesome! I look forward to a follow up post :) I’m using MP right now, and I have to admit I’ve never been a huge fan of them, but it’s hard to find other products (in store, I actually didn’t realize how many V/CF alt hair dyes there were online!)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

