DIY Sea Salt Spray

Hi there sweet pea! Today I’m going to make and test out a homemade sea salt spray. Let’s go!For me, nothing says summertime like a trip to the beach, the sun on your face, the wind in your hair, and not to mention all of the sand! The best part about a dip in the ocean is the effect it has on your tresses, the salt from the ocean adds texture and an almost grungy appearance to your hair. But let’s get real guys! Not all of us have access to an ocean. Don’t fret though this DIY sea salt spray is going to be your summertime lifesaver!

I used to use sea salt sprays all the time! I’d braid my hair at night after I showered, sleep on it so it could dry, and spray it with sea salt spray in the morning to boost the texture. That was my go-to everyday hairstyle 7th through 11th grade, then I started curling my hair on a regular basis, but I still added in a few spritzes of the sea salt spray. I use the Not Your Mother’s Beach Babe Texturing Sea Salt Spray, and I do really like it, the product has a nice smell and it’s not too drying on my hair.This all being said I’m always down to try something new and I actually already had all of the ingredients to create this spray, so why not?

The recipe I used for this spray comes from this Huffington Post article. I started by assembling my ingredients.

A spray bottle (yay for recycling!), 1 tablespoon of sea salt, 1 tablespoon of coconut oil (melted), 1 tablespoon of leave-in-conditioner (you can go for a cruelty-free option if you have it), 1 cup of warm water, Some essential oil (totally not necessary but I had some so I figured why not!)

Then I following the instructions and combined all of the ingredients. Because of the spray bottle I used I had to combine them in a separate jar and then pour part of the mixture into the bottle. This is a little bit of extra work but it’s better than going out and buying something I don’t really need!

final spray
This is what the final product looks like.

Then it came time to test it in my hair. Since I cut my hair I haven’t figured out how to make it look presentable when I braid it over night. So I decided to curl my hair and soften it with the texturing spray rather than trying to create beachy waves.

Honestly I don’t think making this sea salt spray is worth it, the Not Your Mother’s one is pretty inexpensive and I get the same effect. The only time I can see this being the better option is if you’re having a spa night with friends and you want to make your own products.

And that’s all folks! I hope you enjoyed this post! Let me know if you try this out and how you like it!

–Keep it Posh

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Just obsessed with your makeup here!! Love the post xoxo

    Like

  2. Pingback: DIY Nose Strips

Leave a Reply

