Red Lipstick Showdown

Hey lovelies! Today were gonna break down which drugstore red lipstick is the best.

Looking for that perfect, classic red lipstick? On a budget? You and me both. I hopes of finding the best red for less, I have conducted a little showdown . First, a little disclaimer. The lipsticks that I’m talking about today are just from my personal collection. I didn’t run out and grab any specifically for this post, so just a  fair warning that I haven’t scoured the globe and bought every red ever. With that being said, let’s get going.

  1. Colourpop’s Lippie in Bichette  ($5) – I really love the color and price of this one. It’s such a gorgeous wine color. This specific color is a part of their  “matte” collection but as you can see in the swatch it’s not all that matte. Being the really clumsy person I am, I really struggle with applying the product in the way it’s packaged. That being said, it’s $5 and the color is enough to convince me.

     

  2. Colourpop’s Ultra Matte Lip in Avenue ($6)- In comparison to the last, I like this products application a lot better. It liquid lipstick formulation also stays on a lot better than the previous one. The color is a super deep wine that I love, especially in the winter months. The only draw back would be the drying formula this has. I always end up with film around the inside of my lips after a day of wear.

  3. NYX’s Liquid Suede Lip in Cherry Skies ($7)- This one also has the really deep wine red that I love in the winter. My only complaint with this one is I always have to put on multiple coats to prevent patches from showing up on the lip. It also doesn’t dry very fast, especially after I’ve applied so many coats.

  4. L’Oreal’s Colour Riche Lipcolour in True Red ($8)- This was one of my first purchases to achieve the red lip. Ergo, this lipstick is more like a balm and has really crappy pigmentation. 10/10 would not recommend unless a balm like consistency and pigmentation are what you’re looking for.

  5. L’Oreal’s Le Matte Lipcolour Stick in Mad for Matte ($10)- I’ve written about this product and it’s sister lipstick in this post, but I’ll sum up my thoughts here. Great product with a “leaves-something-to-be-desired” packaging.
  6. Rimmel London’s Lasting Finish Kate Moss Lipstick in 107 ($6)- Oh the cult classic 107. This is a great “affordable” option for a deep berry red. It goes on nicely and stays well without having a drying or matte effect. Highly recommend this one to any makeup babies reading this.

  7. Rimmel London’s Lasting Finish Kate Moss Lipstick in 111 ($6)- This product is, unsurprisingly, very similar to last. Great staying power for the more “juicy” (is this an appropriate classification? I feel like it should be) finish it creates. This is a much more orange-y red than it’s berry sister.
  8. Wet n Wild’s MegaLast Lip Color in Stoplight Red ($2)- This is actually my first-ever red lipstick. I picked it up because it was $2 and I needed performance makeup on a budget. Understandably this product doesn’t have the best pigmentation and will wear off really fast, but it’s $2!! So I really can’t complain.
  9. Revlon’s ColorBurst Lacquer Balm in Enticing ($10) – I’m gonna be honest, I’m not a big fan of balm-y type lips (in case you can’t tell). Which might bring up the question “Why on earth did you by a ‘Lacquer Balm’ then?!” I honestly couldn’t tell you why I picked this, all I know is its not my cup of tea. Really sheer pigmentation and wears off really easily. This being said, if you’re into this kind of a thing, the color is a gorgeous cherry red.

Ta da! I know this was a monster of a post but I hope you enjoyed it! Tell me below what your favorite red lip is and I’ll see ya next week!

Love ya bunches! – Prep

Leave a Reply

