All The Single Shadows

Now put your hands up!

So I’m not sure if this was just me, but single shadows never made sense. Why would I buy one for a little bit of money, when I could get a ton for half my paycheck?  And then I found a palette I loved, for just one shade. And I understood perfectly.

I had gotten the Urban Decay Book of Shadows IV, and after using it religiously for a year, I put it away in favor of my new holiday palette, only every pulling it out for my favorite shade, Midnight Cowgirl. Not that the rest of the palette is bad, but the packaging is bulky and just not practical. So pretty tho.

So I bought the single. And my world changed. I could use my favorite shadow anytime, anywhere, I could even put it in my pocket and cover everything in the beautiful champagne gold if I really wanted. And I figured something out.

  1. Singles are good for unique colors that you may not use often, that way you don’t have to pay for a whole palette just for one accent color.
  2. They’re fantastic for your favorites, better for traveling and in general easier to carry a tiny single that a 20 pan palette.
  3. Some hidden gems just can’t be found anywhere else.

So here’s my collection:

  • L’oreal Infallible Shadows
    • Iced Latte, love this for the lid or inner corner.
    • Liquid Diamond, silver with purpley-blue shift, use the same as above.
    • Amber Rush, can’t even with this color. Gorgeous. 
  • Urban Decay Shadows
    • Solstice, beautiful Moondust shadow, reddish brown base with green/purple shift.
    • Lounge, got this in an ipsy, looks great alone or layered under Solstice. Reminds me of MAC Blue Brown, though I don’t have that one.
    • Midnight Cowgirl, the OG that started it all. My favorite champagne gold of all time. A go-to for every pin-up look.
  • L’Oreal Color Riche
    • Cafe Au Lait, this applies to realizations 1, 2, and 3. Great transition shade,  even better contour shade for my alabaster skin.
    • Argentic, gorgeous cornflower blue. Haven’t found anything with the same color or texture.
  • Colourpop
    • Puppy Love, amazing color with unreal shift. It looks pale gold, but has a pink/blue reflect. And proceeds went to Best Friends Animal Society which is a bonus.
    • Shop, orangey red. Love this in the crease.
    • Famous, pale gold, usually pair this with shop.
  • Miscellaneous
    • Flower Beauty Sheer Sands, can’t tell if cream or not? Love the texture and the color is really pretty to just throw on with mascara on basic days
    • Nyx Tin, pure silver, unreal pigmentation.
    • Vera Mona Clover, got in an ipsy and I’ve been wearing it almost every day this summer. Gorgeous peachy pink.

And that’s what I’ve got. The value of single shadows is in their versatility. One shadow can be paired with anything, when taken out of the context of a a palette the options seem so much greater.

Go forth, and embrace the single life.

Stay rad.-Punk

(PS-saving my Makeup Geek shadows for a full brand post eventually, stay tuned.)

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Really like the L’Oreal ones, super pretty!

    Like

    1. The Prep The Punk The Posh says:

      I know, I’m surprised how few people talk about them!-Punk

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Molly says:

    I’ve been loving single shadows lately, it’s so much easier to get the perfect palette when you get to make it yourself! Fab post!

    http://www.molly-alamode.com

    Like

    1. The Prep The Punk The Posh says:

      That’s so true, and thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed it!-Punk

      Like

Leave a Reply

