DIY Dry Shampoo!

Hi there sweet pea! Today I’m going to try making my own (very simple) dry shampoo from cornstarch!We’ve all been in the situation when we run out of dry shampoo and need to find an oil absorbing solution fast. I quick browse of the internet will tell you that cornstarch is the best dry shampoo dupe, so I decided to actually test it out. (Technically I’m using this recipe but it’s really just cornstarch!)

You’re going to need ~

  • A container to mix and store.
  • A 1/4 cup cornstarch (I used the “Great Value” brand from Walmart)
  • Some essential oil, mine is Eucalyptus you can get it from Target! (optional)
  • A salt/ pepper/ spice shaker (also optional)

I followed the recipe from the site and then dumped some into the salt shaker because I saw on a different site that it was easier to apply that way. (spoiler alert: it wasn’t!) I started off with semi dirty hair, I try not to let my hair get too greasy. Here’s what I’m starting off with…

Not too bad I know but my hair definitely wasn’t clean. I’d also like to mention that there wasn’t any product in my hair besides my leave-in-conditioner that I use every time I wash my hair.

When it came to applying the dry shampoo, the salt shaker was a mistake. It would clump up and not dispense so I basically had to hit my head with the shaker for any product to come out. If I had to do this again I would jest forgo the shaker and apply it straight from the container to my hair. That being said it did make for a cool effect on my hair.hair during

I waited the recommended 10 minutes and then rubbed the mixture into my scalp.

Let me tell you that the white cast this leaves is no joke, if you have hair any darker than mine I’d say steer far away from this.

It did absorb the oil in my hair but the white cast combined with the chalky feeling it left behind I think the DIY is a DIDon’t. You can pick up dry shampoo pretty much anywhere, I prefer Batiste because they have nice scents, are relatively inexpensive, and they’re cruelty-free!

Have you tried cornstarch as dry shampoo? What are your thoughts on it?

–Keep it Posh

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Infoélla says:

    Super great DIY! Gotta try this out!
    Tonee
    https://infoellablog.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. Pingback: DIY Nose Strips

Leave a Reply

