Try to Embarrass Myself

“Welcome to my twisted mind…” My cringey self from middle school was the worst. So tried to recreate her signature look for this week’s Try it Tuesday.

I’d like to reiterate, I was awful. My approach to fashion was to try to look as edgy as possible, but I also was an Avril Lavigne wannabe so my idea of edgy was just ill-fitting Abbey Dawn outfits that I coordinated with the rubber bands on my braces. I kid you not.

So as an homage to the worst period of my life so far, I attempted to be bad at makeup again. Here’s what I used:

  • That palette was the Urban Decay Deluxe Shadow Box, and it was my life. Every day I’d swipe one of these vibrant colors on my lid and just leave. I thought I was so cool. Another thing is that I didn’t know eye brushes were a thing, if you look you can see the dirty sponge applicators that were how I did my entire eye look. I was a heathen.
  • Black eyeliner was the only thing I never left the house without. I put it on my upper lashline and in my waterline every day, and never cleaned it up when it inevitably ran everywhere ’cause I didn’t know to set it with powder.
  • I never primed except for the UD Primer Potion samples that I got from palettes like this that I had no business owning, so my face makeup was a mess, on the rare days I wore it, usually I did one bright color on the lid with liner and walked out the door barefaced. On days when I really classed it up I used tinted moisturizer. I never used real foundation until last summer. I represent my base with BB Cream, giving young me a little too much credit.
  • I had pretty bad acne, still do, so I did know about concealer, but rather than this Maybelline Fit Me I used cream concealer and applied/blended it with my fingers. But only on my blemishes, I didn’t know about the undereye yet.
  • Powder foundation was the only makeup product I had a brush for, albeit a scratchy and ineffective one.
  • While I love this mascara with a waterproof primer, without a primer it reminds me of the awful flaky mascara I used to wear that gave me raccoon eyes by the time the bell rang every day.
  • Lastly, a peach scented gloss with no visible pigment.

Here’s the process of the recreated look:

This looks horrendous compared to what I can do now. And that’s the point. I used to suck at makeup. Never be discouraged that you can’t look like the pictures you see on Instagram. They’re photoshopped, for one, but most beauty bloggers have been practicing and honing their skills for years, some are even professional Makeup Artists. Practice and you’ll get there if that’s where you want to go. The best time to experiment and play is at night before you take your makeup off, so go and create.

And for posterity, this is roughly how I wore my bangs back in the day:

And here’s an adapted version of this look that’s up to par with my current skills:

Look! I found out about eyebrows existing, my crease has dimension, I learned about blush and contouring, and overall my skill has vastly improved. Kid me would think I’m a wizard.

Thanks for taking a trip down memory lane with me, look back and commend yourself for how far you’ve come today.

Stay rad.-Punk

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I really liked this post lol!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Prep The Punk The Posh says:

      Thank you so much, lol, I thinks it’s super important to be able to laugh at myself and be as real as I can about my journey, I’m glad you enjoyed it!! -Punk

      Like

Leave a Reply

