(Throw)Back to School Outfit

Hi there sweet pea! Since it’s back to school week here on the blog I decided to do a bit of a high school throwback for today’s Work It Wednesday!Granted I’m only going into my 2nd year of college, so it’s not much of a throwback but I thought I’d share my main outfit from my senior pictures!

This was (and still is) one of my favorite outfits. Bonus everything but my belt is from Target so it’s a pretty affordable outfit too! Even then, my belt is just a simple wide black belt from Forever 21, and it’s not totally essential to this ensemble.

Since the main part of this outfit is a maxi dress (here’s one with a similar pattern), I never had to worry about being in dress code, and it was super easy to throw on and go in the morning. This dress has knee-length slip under the long chiffon printed skirt, the top is high-neck (which is really flattering) and has a crochet pattern.

DSC_0121 (2)The crochet detail makes this girly dress even prettier (in my opinion), and I know you guys can’t see it but this dress hes pretty wide tank-top sleeves so depending on your dress code you could potentially wear it without a jacket.

If you’re like me though and you don’t like your arms or you get cold easily, a denim jacket is a great addition to this outfit. Like previously stated I threw on this belt to add some definition to my waist but you don’t have to add one! you can also opt for a thin colored belt that matches the flowers on the dress for a fun pop of color! My shoes are simple black braided sandals, I honestly wore these things until they completely fell apart and I quickly replaced them because I loved them so much.

Even though my hat and sunglasses aren’t necessarily school appropriate, they were fun to add something extra to my senior pictures. They still have the sunglasses on the site (maybe in store too), I still use this pair today because they’ve held up so well. The hat I’m wearing is also still up on the site, I will warn you though it’s a wool hat so it can get a little toasty.

And that’s all folks! I hope you enjoyed this back to school outfit post! What’s your favorite outfit for school?

–Keep it Posh

P.s – If I can really impart some advice onto you in this post, it would be to not get an awkward tan a week before taking your senior pictures. Unless you want to remember the event forever, then by all means tan away!

DSC_0175 (2)
Long live Midland 2k15

Leave a Reply

