Drugstore Must Haves

TGIFrugalFriday

With back to school coming up I thought I’d throw out a few gems I’ve uncovered that won’t hurt the budgets of beginners, beauty aficionados, broke college kids, or the parents helping them out.

I got a lot of ish to cover, so I feel the best way forward is by brand. Additionally, I will be covering the cruelty free brands/products in the first eight and the non-cruelty free in the last two.

Note: These are just from my own personal collection, check out Prep and Posh’s Frugal Friday posts for more drugstore reviews and recommendations.

img_0507

  1. Sonia Kashuk
    1. Eye on Neutral Matte Palette
      • We’ve covered this before, link here, honestly there’s not much more to be said. It’s perfect and it doesn’t break the bank. Complete your life.
    2. Brushes
      • It’d be too much to go through all the ones I’ve got, but her white handle brush collection has my favorite blending brush of life, the 116, and I’ve got so many of both her brush lines they make up half of my collection. Do yourself a favor and pick some up. Inexpensive brushes of high quality are not as common as they should be.
  2. img_0509Wet’n’Wild
    1. Studio Eyeshadow Palette – Coming in Latte
      • The shimmers are gorgeous and the mattes surprisingly blendable for such an inexpensive palette, can be used wet or dry.
    2. Photo Focus Setting Spray
      • We talked about this in our Spray Showdown, and I still love this setting spray. Fine mist and helps eliminate cake face.
    3. Color Icon Blush
      • Pearlescent Pink is my ride or die. And it’s a dupe for Nars Orgasm if that means anything to you, though in my swatching experience the Nars blush has chunky glitter while WnW is finely milled and won’t leave golden flecks visible to the world. Sometimes the dupe is just better…
    4. MegaLast Lipcolor
      • I actually love this formula, lasts forever as its name suggests, and the shade Cherry Picking is a cruelty-free dupe for Mac’s Ruby Woo.
    5. Brushes
      • Check out Posh’s review on the WnW brushes and blushes here.
  3. img_0510Nyx
    1. Butter Lipsticks
      • Ridiculously creamy and pigmented. So comfortable. Perfect lipstick for beginners or anyone in need of something you can just throw on and go.
    2. Lip Liner
      • MannyMUA’s oft talked about Peekaboo Neutral is honestly a godsend. A “my lips but better” shade that goes with literally anything. Stays on and doesn’t feel drying at all.
    3. (Intense) Butter Lipgloss
      • Now that I no longer have raven tresses down to my knees getting stuck to my lips, I love lip gloss unabashedly, it’s poppin’. These glosses are beautiful worn alone or as a topper. The Intense Butter Glosses are stupid pigmented. The first time I put it on I felt offended at the amount of color being supplied by agloss.
    4. Micro Brow Pencil
      • Honest to gosh dupe for the Anastasia Brow Wiz formula wise. I bought two, and I use them more than any of my Anastasia products.
  4. img_0512Real Techniques
    1. Powder Brush
      • Perfection in a face brush. Can be used for loose or pressed powder, blush, or bronzer. I have an insanely pigmented blush/bronzer combo I talked about in this post that has become a staple for me this summer, but is entirely unwearable unless I use this brush. Endless uses.
    2. Multi Task Brush
      • Favorite blush brush, lightly applies even the most pigmented of blushes so you never leave looking like you’re sunburned.
    3. Sculpting Brush
      • Favorite brush for applying/blending cheek and jawline contours, keeps it blended and prevents the dreaded visible line.
    4. Setting Brush
      • Covered by Prep here, my absolute favorite highlighting brush.
    5. Miracle Complexion Sponge
      • Talked about this in my first Frugal Friday ever here, just bought my third. Loving it.
  5. img_0515E.l.f.
    1. Gotta Glow Lip Tint
      • While I can’t call this a dupe for the Dior Lip Glow, I can say that it will give a similar effect. Lovely sheer wash of color that adapts to your lips.
    2. Brushes
      • Czech out my post here, and pick some up while you’re at it. These brushes are ungodly cheap and work so well, easily the second most represented brand in my brush collection.
    3. Blush Palette
      • Super pigmented and perfect for travel, also shout out to e.l.f.’s wonderfully sturdy packaging.
    4. Lip Exfoliator
      • Listen. This will tear your lips up. But if you need them smooth as a baby’s rear in under 10 seconds without getting your fingers messy this’ll get the job done. Tastes like candy.
  6. img_0516Flower Beauty
    1. Brush
      • I haven’t heard them talked about much, and I’ve only got one so far, but OMGosh?!? The quality, density, and softness of these is unreal. Going to pick up more and will possibly do a full brand review at some point, they’re severely underrated.
  7. img_0521Milani
    1. Blush
      • I’ve got a thing for peach blush, Luminoso is no different. Glowy finish and superbly natural looking. An absolute fave.
  8. img_0517Colourpop
    1. Super Shock Shadows
      • I talked about these here, but again I love these for the ease of application, the gorgeous finishes and the variety. The price is just a bonus.
    2. Gel Liner
      • These stay in my waterline like none other, probably due to the dry formula. For that reason I don’t use them for much else, but any liner that stays solidly vibrant all day is definitely worth it to me.
  9. img_0518Maybelline
    1. Fit Me Concealer
      • Dupe for the Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer, high coverage and very skin-like. I love this for covering blemishes because of how natural it looks.
  10. img_0519L’Oreal
    1. Infallible Pro Matte Gloss
      • Pigmented! Creamy! I literally can’t with this. Beautiful formula and color selection.
    2. Infallible Pro Matte Foundation
      • In my slow transition to eventually becoming cruelty-free, this has unfortunately become my favorite foundation of all time. I can’t find anything that matches this full coverage, demi-matte finish. I hate that I love this so much.
    3. Infallible Shadows
      • Prep and I have both talked about these, here and here respectively, there is no match for these.

Thanks so much if you stuck it out until the end of this monstrous post, let me know if you like this kind of thoroughness or if I need to chill the h*ck out. What are some things y’all have been loving or you think should have made the list? Thanks again for chillin’ with me.

Stay gold.-Punk

8 Comments Add yours

  1. The lipsticks from Rimmel (Kate Moss line) are absolute bomb!

    Like

    1. The Prep The Punk The Posh says:

      I’ve heard they’re really good, I’ll have to check them out, thanks!-Punk

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love Milani Blushes! Could you check out my blog post too? Thanks!

    Like

    1. The Prep The Punk The Posh says:

      I liked your Milani haul and your ipsy posts, I really want to get my hands on some of the rose blushes, and thanks for reading!-Punk

      Like

  3. Swear by the infallible eye shadows, Amber Rush is to die for! Love the post xoxo

    Check out my blog I think you’d love it :) : https://catflicksandmattelips.wordpress.com

    Like

    1. The Prep The Punk The Posh says:

      Lol agreed about Amber Rush, and I’m glad you liked it! Thank you so much!-Punk

      Like

Leave a Reply

