Growing Out Short Hair

Hey party peeps, as you may have guessed by the title I am in the process of growing out my hair at the moment and thought I’d share some tips and tricks I’ve picked up to help the process along.

First off, you should check out my previous posts on what to do before you cut your hair and how to care for damaged hair if you’re currently deciding if the regrowth process is worth the chop or if damage is keeping you from making any progress in your grow out.

I said this before and I’ll say it again, you need to get regular trims. Not a lot, just enough to get rid of the damaged ends and keep your hair healthy. It’s a myth that haircuts make your hair grow faster, but it does prevent breakage which can create the illusion of more growth. I finally got a

Another thing I’ve been doing lately is using the Not Your Mother’s Way to Grow Long & Strong Shampoo and Conditioner, and I haven’t been using it long enough to determine if it’s just the placebo effect or if it’s actually doing something, but my hair has been growing in really nicely this summer since I switched from my Alterna Shampoo and Conditioner, which I highly recommend for anyone with weird colored hair it’s phenomenal. So while I can’t say for sure that this is magic yet, it’s not hurting anything? And I actually really enjoy the scent and how it makes my hair feel.

AND ANOTHER THING – Y’all really need to stop heat styling. Honestly, I haven’t used my straightener all summer, and this is a great time of year to chill with the heat, if that makes sense? What I’ve been doing is braiding my hair and spraying it with salt spray before bed for beachy waves whenever I get bored with my straight hair, or if your hair is long enough for pin curls I highly recommend that as well, and here‘s a tutorial done on long hair but can totally be adapted for short hair as I’ve done a few times. I know that heat styling is so much quicker and easier than taking the time to section out your hair and waiting for it to dry, but honestly your hair will thank you by not snapping in half.

Another thing that’s been helpful is conditioning the crap out of my hair. Moroccanoil, deep conditioner, leave-in conditioner, regular conditioner, just take your pick. My hair is really dry and damaged from all the bleaching, even with regular trims, getting some moisture back into your strands can help tide you over until you can chop the irreparable damage.

Let me know some tips and tricks you’ve picked up to help with the grow out, and thanks for hanging out.

Stay rad.-Punk

Leave a Reply

