Modded Out

Hello lovelies, today I’m taking it back to the Mad Men era for a 1960s, Twiggy inspired, Mod look.

The mod look was popular amongst the younger generation, the most prominent example being Twiggy, the first teen supermodel. I was inspired by a powder blue shadow in my collection, L’Oreal Colour Riche in the shade Argentic,  which I thought would perfectly compliment a mod look. So to get started I primed my upper eye area with my Kat Von D Lock-it Color Correcting Eye Primer just to cover up any veins and then I set that with a color that matches my skin. Then I took my Nyx Jumbo Pencil in Milk all over my lid to help make the blue stand out more.

The next step was to map out the line in the crease, I did so with an angled brush and some grey shadow from the Sonia Kashuk Eye on Neutral Matte Palette, reviewed here.

Following that I filled the lid in with Argentic.

Then I covered the crease line with black shadow that I turned into a liner with a little setting spray, and took the same liner across my upper lashline.

The finishing steps were white liner in the waterline, painted on lower lashes, and some strong mascara application. To emphasize the graphic look I grouped the lashes on the bottom into little points. If you were so inclined, false lashes would definitely be appropriate and historically accurate.

img_0852I kept the face fairly natural, and on the lips I chose a very pale peach, Nyx Butter Lipstick in the shade Candy Buttons. That’s the look! Thanks for hanging out and have a great day!

Stay weird.-Punk

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

