Halloween 2k16 Pin Up Tutorial

I thought I’d kick off our first Halloween season with a super easy tutorial for one of the easiest to throw together costumes, a pin up girl. This is a blend of authentic and historically accurate looks with modern products and application, but the end result, I think, is rather authentic.

First things first, get your face.

Make sure that it’s clean, primed, and ready for this. Next step, throw some brows on there. The look in the day was defined, but soft, so I opted for a brow powder (ABH Soft Brown), then set it with a gel and cleaned up underneath with my KVD eye primer, which I love for carving out my brow and priming at the same time.

I didn’t take the primer all the way down though, so that I could employ two of the Flower Beauty Endless Wear Eye Colors. I used Sheer Sands in the crease and Sheer Cinnamon along my lashline and blended upward, should look a bit like this:

Next I took my L’Oreal Infallible Shadow in the shade Amber Rush and put it all over my lid, making sure my edges are softly blended out and diffused. Shimmery bronzes are supes accurate, so this is typically my go to as it works for the time period and the coppery tinge does some things for my blue eyes.

Liner. I went with a gel formula for authenticity, and just because it’s my favorite way to apply a wing. Much easier to master than liquid, and reminds me of how I first started out in the world of cat-eyes. Add a nude liner to the waterline and that’s it for the eyes. They really only used one, max two, shadows on the lid and the lower lid was kept entirely bare to create a more wide-eyed look.

For face makeup I kept it matte as heck, powder perfect was the look. That basically it.

Finishing touches were a few coats of mascara, I’ve been loving the L’Oreal Feline mascara lately for long, feathery, separated lashes. I also blushed/bronzed with one product, as the they did back in the day. I used my Hikari Radiate Shimmer Bronzer for a Peachy Bronze warmth that was the popular look. Lastly, lips. I used my favorite brown liner, UD 1993, to outline my lips and filled in with Buxom’s Provacateur Lipstick. Brown and a Creamy Brick Red were the go-to combo for Marilyn, so I thought it fitting.

And here’s some of the key products used:

img_0965

Hope you’re having a bomb Monday, thanks for hanging out!

Stay gold.-Punk

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sophia Cho says:

    You’re stunning! Loved the post! Please check out my latest post if you get the chance, it’d mean a lot! xx

    Like

    1. The Prep The Punk The Posh says:

      Thank you so much!! I’m glad you liked it! -Punk

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

