NYX Powder Foundation Review

Hi there sweet pea! For today’s Try It Tuesday I’ll be reviewing the NYX Stay Matte But Not Flat Powder Foundation, let’s go!Admittedly I knew going into this that I probably wouldn’t like this product on its own, spoiler alert I was right. I’m a go big or go home kind of person so I either like complete full coverage or no makeup, and this powder foundation didn’t fulfill my full coverage needs. My initial plan for this product was to use it as a setting powder as a cruelty-free option to replace my Airspun powder. This didn’t really work either, I got oily super early in the day when I used just this as a setting powder.

powder-swatch

Next, I tried this product as a touch-up powder for my for my t-zone when I started to get oily. It actually worked pretty well to mattify my face but I don’t think it’s worth it considering that it’s a $10 product when you can pick up a cheaper powder from e.l.f. I also don’t always get oily so I don’t need to use this product everyday so it’ll probably take me a long time to get through this powder even though there is only .26 oz of product in this compact.

As for packaging this product is really sleek even though the compact houses a mirror and a sponge for on the go application. I picked up the shade “Nude” and it’s a little light for me but because the coverage isn’t very intense I can make it work. I usually apply this product with a big powder brush because using the sponge it comes with can make the product look a little cakey.

And yeah that’s pretty much it! The low down is that I’d recommend this powder for touchups but not for setting or by itself (if you like a full coverage look). I hope you enjoyed this review and let us know of any other products you want to see!

–Keep it Posh

4 Comments Add yours

  1. That actually sounds like just what I need lately haha, great review! Loved reading this xoxo my latest post 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have had this powder for a month now but I don’t really like the way it sits on my face. It gives a very unnatural look to my face and also makes my foundation look cakey. Anyways great review.

    C&S recently posted https://cherriesnstrawberriesblog.wordpress.com/ have a look at ny recent post. Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

