Cleanser Review for Oily/Acne-Prone Skin

Hello hello kids, today is a short and sweet review of the cornerstone face cleansers in my skincare routine.

img_1239

I’m not sure if this is a thing for other people, but I have a designated cleanser for when I shower. The mark of a good shower cleanser for me is that it exfoliates and makes my skin feel baby soft while also having acne-fighting ingredients for my #problematic skin. This one does all of the things. The exfoliation doesn’t tear up my skin and still manages to slough off all of my dead dry skin, the salicylic acid keeps my acne in check, and the citrus and mint give a really refreshing cooling affect while you work this into your skin. After I rinse off my skin feels so clean and smooth, highly recommend this cleanser. Part of the Olay fresh effects line I reviewed in this moisturizer post.

img_1240

For my morning cleanser I like something a bit more gentle, and for that I use this charcoal gel cleanser from Biore. The gel consistency weirded me out at first, but I’ve come to like it. What I really like about this cleanser is that it doesn’t lather, which is when a soap kind of turns white and bubbly when you rub your hands together. Soaps that lather up a lot tend to strip the moisture from your skin, so while this cleanser does combat oil, it doesn’t make my face feel tight and dry after I wash it. I do notice less oiliness when I use this, which I greatly appreciate, but my acne is pretty severe so I also pair it with my next cleanser/toner.

img_1241

This cleanser/toner is not new, I actually reviewed it back in May. I recently purchased my third bottle if that tells you how much I love this stuff. I use this after I wash my face as a toner, and as a one step cleanser on my lazy days. I love the smell, the cooling sensation, the acne-fighting ingredients. I can’t say enough.

Thanks for hanging out, let me know what skincare faves you’ve been loving recently in the comments!

Stay gold.-Rae

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sounds like we have the exact same problems and preferences! You should try out the murad clarifying gel cleanser too- that one really worked for me! Loved reading this xoxo my latest post ♡

    Like

    1. I’ve heard good stuff about the gel cleanser, I’ll deffs check it out, thanks!
      -Rae

      Like

Leave a Reply

