Laura Mercier Loose Setting Powder Review!

Hi there! Today’s Try It Tuesday is going to be a review on the Laura Mercier Loose Setting Powder! If you’re curious on my thoughts keep on reading!If you’re new to the blog, then you might have missed the other powder reviews that I’ve done (like these two NYX ones and the Coty Airspun powder). So I’m a big fan of loose (cheap) setting powders to semi-bake my undereyes AND to lightly dust over my entire face. Lately I’ve been picking up some highend makeup products to test out so I thought my next purchase would be a nice setting powder since I was pretty much done with the other one I was working on.

IMG_8761

I decided on the Laura Mercier powder because it gets SO MUCH hype on YouTube from people with all different skin types and tones so I thought it might be the safest highend powder purchase. The good news is that I wasn’t disappointed, the bad news however is that I’m not blown away.

Let’s break this post down into a pros and cons list~

Pros:

  • It works great for baking or using a sponge to set under the eye – this is essential considering that this is the main reason why I use a loose powder.
  • This powder gives a nice finish to your makeup – I’ve tried it over a super cheap ($5!) foundation and a highend foundation ($40) and both have a beautiful airbrushed look with this powder over top.
  • The packaging on this product is just gorgeous! The frosted plastic with a heavy looking lid makes it seem like they put time and effort into the packaging but I don’t feel like that’s where all of my money is going.

Cons:

  • The price, $38! – I have always been a drugstore girl so I find it really difficult spending so much on a powder that I know I can finish relatively quickly.
  • The amount of product in the jar – Now you get more product in here (1 oz) than in the NYX Loose Setting Powder (.28 oz) but you don’t get as much as you do in the Airspun (2.3 oz) but considering that I can get through an Airspun I’ve gone through this powder fairly quickly.

That all being said I do really like this powder but I don’t think I’m going to immediately repurchase it. I think the next powder I’m going to pick up is going to be the RCMA No Color powder because that one is a little more in my price range.

IMG_8760

I hope this review helped in some way, if you have any questions leave them down below!

–Dahltyn

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Great review. I’m with you on this. I enjoy it but I don’t know if I NEED to repurchase it when it’s finished.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mariiacano says:

    Great review! I got this a couple of months ago, but I’ve recently stopped using powder all together and it has made a huge difference! (i have dry skin)

    Maria Cano | Instagram | Bloglovin’

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve always been so close to purchasing this x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post! I heard so many good thinsg about this powder, i NEED to try it soemday!

    Have a lovely day.

    My Blog: https://vintageguruinwonderland.wordpress.com/2017/04/12/no-more-frizz-get-the-messy-curls-look/(I FOLLOW BACK XO)

    P.s. There are 3 days left to enter my beauty giveaway:
    https://vintageguruinwonderland.wordpress.com/2017/03/12/spring-beauty-giveaway-worth-40/

    Like

Leave a Reply

